EOS, Electro Optic Systems, Defence and Space Technology Company

Electro Optic Systems Holdings Limited

Garry Hounsell


Mr Hounsell is Chair of the Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation. He is Chair of Helloworld Travel Limited (since 2016) and Non-Executive Director and Chair of Wine Operations and Sustainability at Treasury Wine Estates Limited (since 2012). Mr Hounsell is also a Director of Findex (since January 2020), a member of Commencer Capital’s (formally Investec Emerging Companies) Investment Committee (since 2019) and Director and Chair of HiroBrands Limited (since December 2021).

Mr Hounsell was previously the Chair of Myer Holdings Limited (2017-2020; Executive Chair Feb-Jun 2018), Chair and a Non-Executive Director of Spotless Group Holdings Limited (2014-2017), and Chair of Emitch Limited (2006-2008) and PanAust Limited (2008-2015). He was also previously an Advisory Board Member of PanAust Limited (2015-2017), Rothschild Australia Limited (2012-2017), and Investec Global Aircraft Fund (2007-2019). He was a Director at Orica Limited (2004-2013), Nufarm Limited (2004-2012), Qantas Airways Limited (2005-2015), Mitchell Communication Group Limited (2008-2010), Integral Diagnostics Limited (2015-2017), Dulux Group Limited (2010-2017) and Investec Aircraft Syndicate Limited (2012-2018). Mr Hounsell was a Senior Partner at Ernst & Young (2002-2004), CEO and Managing Partner of Arthur Andersen (2001-2002) and a Partner at Arthur Andersen (1989-2002).

Mr Hounsell has a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) from the Swinburne Institute of Technology (1975) and is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ben Greene

Founder, Head of Innovation

Dr Ben Greene developed and deployed laser space tracking capabilities and infrastructure across Australia. He was also the principal designer of the initial remote weapon systems programs for the US Army. Dr Greene is the founder of EOS and the company’s Head of Innovation having previously served as the company’s Group CEO until August 2022. He is widely published in science and technology, has authored numerous patents, and his work has been recognised by NASA and USAF awards. Dr Greene is a past member of Australia’s Prime Ministers Science, Engineering and Innovation Council (PMSEIC), Director of the CRC for Space Environment Management and Deputy Chair of the Western Pacific Laser Tracking Network (WPLTN). Appointed to the Board on 11 April 2002.

David Black

Non-Executive Director

Before retiring from the Deloitte in 2016, Mr Black spent 25 years working in the UK and Australia. During that time he worked with clients, including in the Defence, Manufacturing and Government sectors, on complex accounting, internal and external auditing, risk management, corporate governance and due diligence engagements. Mr Black previously served as the audit partner for the Company for the periods ending from June 2005 to December 2009 and June 2012 to June 2016. He is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, has a BA (Hons) in Economics, an MBA and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Black is Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Nominations and Remuneration Committee. Appointed to the Board on 1 January 2021

Kate Lundy

Non-Executive Director

Having served as Senator in the Federal Parliament for nearly 20 years, Kate Lundy continues to focus her energy on technology and innovation. In 2017, the Australian National University awarded her a Doctor of Letters (honorary doctorate) for her “exceptional contributions to advocacy and policy for information communications and technology, for the ACT and nationally.” During her time as Senator for the ACT in the Federal Parliament in both Government and Opposition, Ms Lundy held several front bench and Ministerial portfolios, including IT, Innovation, Digital Economy, Manufacturing, Sport and Multicultural Affairs. She is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Nominations and Remuneration Committee. Elected to the board on 23 March 2018.

Geoff Brown AO

Non-Executive Director

Geoff Brown AO, AM retired from the Royal Australian Air Force in May 2015 as Air Marshall in the position of Chief of Air Force. Among his qualifications he holds a BEng (Mech), a Master of Arts (Strategic Studies), Fellow of the Institute of Engineering Australia and is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society. He is a Director of Lockheed Martin (Australia) Pty Limited, Chairman of the Sir Richard Williams Foundation and Chairman of the Advisory Board of CAE Asia Pacific. He is Chairman of the Nominations and Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee. Appointed to the Board on 21 April 2016.

Deena Shiff

Non-Executive Director

Ms Deena Shiff BSc (Econ), BA (Law) FAICD has had a career in government, the law and as a senior executive. She was the founding CEO of Telstra’s corporate venture capital arm, Telstra Ventures, Group Managing Director at Telstra, and was previously a partner in the leading law firm, Mallesons Stephen Jaques. Ms Shiff is currently the Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Marley Spoon AG (ASX:MMM) and is a Non-Executive Director on the board of Appen (ASX:APX), and a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the People and Culture Committees for ProMedicus (ASX:PME) and Opera Australia. She chairs the government’s Australian Broadband Advisory Council, the International Advisory Board of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Automated Decisions and Society, and the Advisory Board of the Australian Centre for China in the World.

Robert Kaye

Non-Executive Director

Robert Kaye SC is a barrister, mediator and professional Non-executive Director. Recognised for his strategic and commercially focused advice, Mr Kaye has acted for various commercial enterprises – both public and private – across media, retail, FMCG, property development, mining and engineering sectors. Drawing on his experience as a senior member of the NSW Bar, including serving on the Professional Conduct Committee and Equal Opportunity Committee, he has a strong emphasis on Board governance and is well versed in Board processes. Mr Kaye has significant cross-border experience, including corporate restructuring and M&A across North America, Europe, Asia, and the Australia and New Zealand region. In addition to his role as Non-executive Director of Electro Optic Systems Holdings Limited,  he is Chairman and Non-executive Director of Collins Foods Limited, and a Non-executive Director of Magontec Limited, and FAR Limited. Mr Kaye was formerly Non-executive Chairman of Spicers Limited and Non-executive Director of UGL Limited, HT&E Limited and Blue Sky Alternative Investments Limited and the Chairman of the Macular Disease Foundation Australia.